Steamboat Institute 2022 Courage in Education Award Presented to Manhattan Institute Scholar Ilya Shapiro

Award presented at Steamboat Institute’s 14th Annual Freedom Conference in Beaver Creek, CO, Aug. 26-27

Steamboat Springs: Today, Steamboat Institute announced that it has awarded its 2022 Courage in Education Award to Ilya Shapiro, senior fellow and director of constitutional studies at the Manhattan Institute. The award will be presented at Steamboat Institute’s 14th Annual Freedom Conference in Beaver Creek, CO, Aug 26-27.

“I’m honored to receive this award from a terrific organization I’ve been gratified to work with for a long time,” said Ilya Shapiro, senior fellow and director of constitutional studies at the Manhattan Institute. “I don’t think of myself as a particularly courageous person — I write and talk for a living — but if refusing to live by the lies of the educational establishment counts as courage these days, then I’m happy to lead the charge into that den of vipers.”

“Ilya Shapiro has shown tremendous courage in staring down the woke campus mob and standing up for free speech,” said Jennifer Schubert-Akin, founder and chairman of Steamboat Institute. “By standing firm against cancel culture and putting principles over personal gain, Ilya has exemplified the qualities embodied by Courage in Education Award winners and sorely lacking on college campuses across the country today.”

Read Ilya Shapiro’s full biography HERE. Read his Wall Street Journal op-ed “Why I Quit Georgetown” HERE. See past winners of the Courage in Education Award HERE.

Steamboat Institute created the Courage in Education Award to recognize and encourage leadership and courage in promoting intellectual diversity on campus and in advancing conservative thought and policy. The Courage in Education Award is granted each year to an institution or member of academia who demonstrates a commitment to open inquiry, free speech, and intellectual diversity – traditional ideals of higher education which have been usurped in recent years in favor of identity politics and free speech restrictions.

Past recipients of the Courage in Education Award include Jameson Broggi, Esq.; Hillsdale College; Samuel Abrams, Professor of Politics and Social Science at Sarah Lawrence College; Wallace Loh, President of the University of Maryland; Brandon Van Dyck, Assistant Professor of Government and Law at Lafayette College; and Bruce Benson, President of the University of Colorado.

August 1, 2022